top of page
  • Writer's pictureDomenic Falcone

The 120 year cycle of planetary influence

An important concept in Jyotish or Indian astrology is the Dasha. This is a 120-year cycle and when the cycle reaches its end it starts over at the beginning. The order of the cycle and the duration of the cycle are always the same, but where you enter into the cycle is based on the Rashi, or lunar house, that the Moon is placed in in your natal chart. Every Dasha is ruled by a planet and that planet is the most important planet, in terms of the results it brings to your life, during the Dasha that it rules. The Dasha cycle is as follows: Sun for 6 years, Moon for 10 years, Mars for 7 years, Rahu for 18 years, Jupiter for 16 years, Saturn for 19 years, Mercury for 17 years, Ketu for 7 years, Venus for 20 years. This can also be used to calculated sub-Dashas to determine the second, third and fourth most influential planet during a specific period of time.

For example, because Joe Biden was born with his Moon in Aswini Dasha, which is ruled by Ketu and is at the beginning of the sign of Aries, he started life in Ketu Dasha. This can be used to determine that he is near the end of his Jupiter Dasha, with a Rahu sub-Dasha. By April 15th of this year Jupiter will be in Pisces and aspecting his natal retrograde Jupiter in Cancer and this natal Jupiter will be in turn aspecting the transit of Jupiter in Pisces. Saturn in Capricorn will also be aspecting his natal Jupiter and the current transit of Jupiter. Rahu will have entered his 6th house of Aries joined by Mercury the ruler of his 8th house, which is the house of death. Based on this we can determine that between the middle of April and the middle of May something big will happen to him or in his life involving his 2nd, 4th, 5th, 6th, 8th, 9th, and 11th houses and focus on Rahu and Jupiter and the signs they rule. This is one method that can be used to narrow down a prediction from all the possible outcomes a chart presents.

3 views0 comments


bottom of page